Skip to main content

The PreTeXt Guide

Subsection 4.36.1 Localization Files

The prerequisite is that a localization file for your language exists. Fifteen languages are already supported, such as es-ES (Peninsular Spanish), pt-BR (Brazilian Portuguese), and hu-HU (Hungarian/Magyar); the default language code is en-US (American English). For a up-to-date list of which languages are available, see the localization stylesheet folder on GitHub 1 .
If such a file does not exist, you will need to create one or find someone to help you do so. Brief instructions for this are in the README file 2  for this directory. These instructions suggest using the en-US file as a template and as a source of more detailed instructions. We highly encourage anyone who creates such a file to contribute it to our growing list of localization stylesheets; see Section A.4 in the Appendices for details.